In Uncategorized

Nominations have been announced for a number of highly regarded arts awards around Australia. Congratulations to all the playwrights and companies, here”s a bit of a wrap up of the shortlists:

Helpmann Awards 2012 – presented by Live Performance Australia

Best New Australian Work

Angela”s Kitchen, Paul Capsis and Julian Meyrick (Griffin Theatre Company)

Ganesh Versus the Third Reich, Marn Deans, Marcia Ferguson, Bruce Gladwin, Nicki Holland, Simon Laherty, Sarah Mainwaring,
Scott Price, Kate Sulan, Brian Tilley & David Woods (Malthouse Theatre & Melbourne Festival with a Back to Back Theatre Production)

Songs For Nobodies, Joanna Murray-Smith (Melbourne Theatre Company)

Best Play

Neighbourhood Watch, Belvoir

The Boys, Griffin Theatre Company in association with Sydney Festival

Ganesh Versus the Third Reich, Presented by Melbourne Festival, Malthouse Theatre and Back to Back Theatre


Read the full list of Helpmann nominations and check out the list of winners here

The 45th AWGIE Awards
– presented by the Australian Writers’ Guild  

StagePorn.Cake, Vanessa Bates10,000 Beers, Alex BrounMan In The Middle, Ron ElishaNeighbourhood Watch, Lally Katz

Silent Disco, Lachlan Philpott


Children’s TheatreLove, Finegan KruckemeyerThis Girl Laughs, This Girl Cries, This Girl Does Nothing, Finegan KruckemeyerSnow On Mars, Richard Tulloch with Kim Carpenter and Gale Edwards  Community and Youth Theatre The Sadness Of Mister Saisson,   Chris ThompsonBehind The Cane, Margery Forde and Michael FordeThe Boy With The Longest Shadow,  Finegan KruckemeyerCyberbile, Alana Valentine

Read the nominations announcement and check out the winners here


Queensland Literary Awards 2012

Established in April 2012 as a response to the decision to cancel the Queensland Premier”s Literary Awards – find out more at their Facebook page

Drama Script (Stage)

War Crimes, Angela Betzien

Bloodland, Wayne Blair

Taxi, Patricia Cornelius

Babyteeth, Rita Kalnejais

A Golem Story, Lally Katz

Read the shortlist announcement here


Victorian Premier”s Literary Awards 2012 –  administered by the Wheeler Centre

Prize for Drama

National Interest, Aidan Fennessy

A Golem Story, Lally Katz

Boxman, Daniel Keene

Read about the Premier”s 21 here


Richard Burton Award for Playwriting – created by Sally Burton in association with Black Swan State Theatre Company

Shortlisted playwrights

Mary Rachel Brown (New South Wales)

Melissa Bubnic (Victoria)

Ingle Knight (Western Australia)

Tom Holloway (Victoria)

David Milroy (Western Australia)

Tommy Murphy (New South Wales)


More info on the Black Swan blog here

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt