In Opportunities

Submissions have now closed for the Max Afford Playwrights’ Award. We look forward to announcing the winner in February 2018.

The Max Afford Playwrights’ Award is offered by Perpetual and administered by Playwriting Australia. It was created “to promote interest in Australian drama and to encourage the writing of plays in Australia, to help and give incentive to young writers of plays.” The award is an initiative of the late Thelma May Afford, who in her will established a fund to offer a periodical prize in memory of her husband.

Malcolm ‘Max’ Afford was an Australian playwright and novelist. He was renowned for his stage scripts and radio plays which explored Australian settings and subjects through a macabre style of drama. He was survived by his wife Thelma May Afford who established this award to foster and support playwrights, while improving the public appreciation of young writing talent of Australia.

The total value of the biennial award is $30,000, which includes $15,000 cash to the writer and up to $15,000 towards creative development with a director, dramaturg and a cast of actors. It is currently our intention that the workshop will take place as part of the National Play Festival, 21-24 March, 2018.

To be eligible for the award the play cannot be produced, or scheduled for production before April 2018. It must be over one hour in duration. Plays that have previously received support from Playwriting Australia are not eligible, but you may resubmit a work. The Max Afford Estate have created this award to be given to a young playwright, to enable them to further their education in the field of drama, to improve their creative writing and, to improve the general public’s appreciation of Australian drama and playwrights. We have defined young playwrights to be between the ages of 18 and 40.

Please read the full guidelines before applying; Terms and Conditions_Max Afford 2018

If you have any questions please contact Leila Enright our Artistic Co-ordiantor at or call 02 8274 0900


Sunday 19 November 2017 – Entries close at 11:59pm EST.

February 2018 – Winner announced.

12 – 24 March 2018 National Play Festival development in Sydney



 2016 WINNER

Pedagogy  by Chris Summers


The Bees are all Dead  by Kit Brookman


The Silver Alps by Maxine Mellor

Sunshine by Tom Holloway
Kill Climate Deniers by David Finnigan



The Max Afford Playwrights’ Award is offered by Perpetual as Trustee


Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt